Have you ever created a Doc, shared it, and instructed people to make a copy, but they start typing on it, causing all documents to be changed? If so, this will solve that problem!
This is not necessary if you are sharing through Google Classroom. This is only if you are sharing or emailing the Doc link out to people. Again, you do not need to do this if you are running it through Classroom.
When the user clicks on the bottom link, this is the screen they will get.
This is what their title will read.
Why would we need to do this? Forms teachers need to fill out (CARE team), reflection forms after PD sessions, Docs you need only a handful of students to fill out and return, etc. This prevents files from being ruined if deletions or edits occur.
Fifth grade teacher in a 1:1 iPad classroom, sharing my journey with technology in the classroom